Uduaghan, Shekarau win APC senatorial primaries

Two former governors have won their senatorial tickets on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Emmanuel Uduaghan, former governor of Delta State, who recently defected to the party, was elected unopposed by delegates from the eight local government areas of Delta South senatorial district. The primary took place at Oleh Civic Centre in Isoko south, on Wednesday. In his acceptance speech, the former governor thanked the party for believing in him. “I am happy about it, I was ready for the election, but when the final list came from the national that I was the only person cleared, that is what resulted in this voice affirmation by the delegates of our party,” he said. “I want to thank the people of the Delta South and they should be assured of quality representation. By God’s grace, the APC will win elections in Delta state. “You know that in Delta state, APC has not won any election and we need to bring everybody together to win the forthcoming elections in Delta state. Immediately after the primaries. We will bring everybody together so that there will be no factions in the state. We will bring all aggrieved parties in so that we can move the party forward.” Also, Ibrahim Shekarau, former governor of Kano State, also won his primary to challenge for the Kano Central senatorial district seat at the Senate. The former governor recently defected to the ruling party from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). The APC announced the results of the senatorial primary election for Kano State, with Shekarau, and two incumbent senators, Kabiru Gaya and Barau Jibrin, emerging as winners. Announcing the results, Presiding Officer of APC senatorial primary for Kano South Senatorial District, Prof. Balarabe Jakada, said three candidates contested for the election in the district. Jakada said Gaya won the election with 1,035,057 votes, followed by Abdulrahman Kawu-Sumaila who scored 309,209 votes, while Isa Yahaya Zarewa got 15,643 votes for the Kano South senatorial zone. The Presiding Officer of APC senatorial primary for Kano Central Senatorial District, Dr. Saleh Garba, announced that Shekarau emerged victorious with 973,435 votes. According to Garba, Hajiya Laila Buhari came second with 3,004 votes, followed by Sulaiman Halilu who scored 1,001 votes to clinch the third position. In Kano North senatorial zone, the incumbent Senator, Barau jibrin, emerged as the senatorial candidate unopposed, following the exit of Abdullahi Tijjani Mohammed Gwarzo from the race. Meanwhile, the incumbent senator representing Kano South Senatorial District, Kabiru Gaya, has pledged continuous support to President Muhammadu Buhari in his determined efforts to develop the country. Gaya made the promise while speaking to newsmen in reaction to his victory in the just-concluded senatorial primary election conducted on Tuesday. He said he would continue to support President Buhari in his re-election bid in 2019 general elections to enable him to continue to execute his laudable programmes aimed at promoting political, social and economic development of the country. “National interest is above any interest. So, we will continue to do our best to ensure the provision of needed infrastructure development in the country,”he said. Gaya also promised to ensure that peace prevailed in the party by working with all those who contested the primary election with him and lost. “I am happy for the victory even though it is the victory for the people. No fewer than 3,000 women trekked a distance of about three kilometers to reach a place where they cast their votes,” he said. He commended Gov. Abdullahi Ganduje for providing the conducive atmosphere to conduct the election.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.