Nigeria Decides: Akpabio losing senatorial seat as PDP takes the lead

Former governor of Akwa Ibom State and ex- Minority Leader of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio is apparently getting the shock of his life, following the outcome of the Saturday National Assembly elections in his senatorial zone.

In eight out of the 10 local government areas released so far in his senatorial zone, Akpabio, an All Progressives Congress (APC) senatorial candidate, had lost in all of them.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate who is a former Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Christopher Ekpenyong won in all of them in results released by INEC.

Results yet to be announced in Akpabio’s senatorial zone is that of his country home, Essien Udim LGA and a neigbouring Ikot Ekpene LGA which are still pending.

Also, candidates of the PDP for the House of Representative elections won in all the eight LGA results released.

If the trend continues, Akpabio will be joining Senate President Bukola Saraki, and current Senate Minority Leader, Biodun Olujimi, who lost in their bids to return to the Senate in Kwara and Ekiti states respectively.

Result of the senatorial election so far released are:

Etim Ekpo LGA

PDP – 6,603

APC – 2,671

Abak LGA

PDP – 10,926

APC – 9,787

Ika LGA,

PDP – 9,257

APC – 4,152

Ukanafun LGA

PDP – 25,952

APC – 14,452

Oruk Anam LGA

PDP – 25,123

APC – 10,534

Obot Akara LGA

PDP – 13,184

APC – 6,229

Okono LGA

PDP – 7,951

APC – 3,083


PDP – 13, 302

APC – 5,897

No comments

Powered by Blogger.