Ahead of guber election, Opposition candidates decamp to APC

Ahead of the March 9 governorship election, senatorial candidates of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Rt. Hon. (Mrs.) Titi Oseni-Gomez (Ogun Central) and Engr. (Dr) Deji Ashiru (Ogun East) at the recent National Assembly polls have decamped to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ogun state.

Mario Reporta gathered that the politicians’ switch is apparently to support the aspiration of Prince Dapo Abiodun, the governorship candidate of the APC.

We understand there is a realignment ongoing within political parties in the state.

However, the reason for their actions could not yet be ascertained.

Ashiru and Oseni-Gomez would likely work in tandem with the APC governorship candidate in order to ensure he is victorious at the poll.

Governor Ibikunle Amosun‘s preferred candidate is not the APC candidate, but the flagbearer of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Hon. Adekunle Abdulkabir Akinlade.

This firm decision of his has pitched him against the leadership of the APC, especially at the national level.

Although President Muhammadu Buhari of the APC secured victory in last Saturday’s presidential election in the Gateway state, the race for who succeeds Amosun as the next governor of Ogun state is open, with many believing ADC’s Gboyega Nasir Isiaka, PDP’s Buruji Kashamu, APM’s Hon. Akinlade and APC’s Prince Abiodun all have a fair chance of coming out on top.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.